Recently Reviewed

Check out the newest books we've read and reviewed below!

If you're looking for a good new kids book each month see Kelly's Kid Picks and for our horror lovers check out Rob's Featured Nightmares.

Meet our booksellers and check out all their past and present reviews here

From our June 2018 Newsletter:


Staff Pick Logo
The Mermaid Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780399584046
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Berkley Books - June 19th, 2018

It's hard not to fall in love with anything Christina Henry writes. The Mermaid tells the story of Amelia, a young mermaid who lives as a human after falling in love with a fisherman of a small village. When the ambitious and insatiable P.T. Barnum decides to find a mermaid for his new exhibition and tales of Amelia reach his ears, he convinces her to become part of his show. But Amelia begins to question whether or not she can ever leave and soon learns she must fight for her independence and agency as both mermaid and woman. Written with fairy tale-like narration and enchanting characterization, The Mermaid is a poignant portrayal of love and freedom. — Kelly


Staff Pick Logo
Head on: A Novel of the Near Future Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9780765388919
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor Books - April 17th, 2018

A follow-up to the novel Lock InHead On was a book I simply couldn’t put down. The story reads like an Agatha Christie murder mystery, but with more corporate conspiracy and robots. Beyond the mystery and sci-fi, there are also elements of social commentary that had me questioning humanity’s shared beliefs on race and minority. While I enjoy the story’s alternative take on the near-future, I simply love the balance between the often-humorous banter of the main characters and the narrative’s action-packed moments. All this combined with the even pacing of the story, as the author avoids inundating the reader with too much information all at once, makes for a smooth and enjoyable read. If you’re a fan of crime dramas, sci-fi, and some humorous dialogue, you’ll love John Scalzi’s Head On as much as I did.  — Nick


Staff Pick Logo
The Grey Bastards (Lot Lands #1) Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780525572442
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Crown Publishing Group (NY) - June 19th, 2018

"Live in the Saddle. Die on the hog." 

I never thought I would find myself so drawn into a story where the main characters are half-orcs. But by page three I was hooked, and rooting for them. This book took what I thought I knew about fantasy and flipped it on it head. The main character is Jackal, a half-orc and a member of the Grey Bastards, a biker-like gang that rides hogs with snouts and tusks instead of wheels. He is young but also cunning and head-strong. Along with his "brothers" they patrol the Lots and do their best to keep full-blooded orcs away from the human world. Jonathan French created a rich world filled with boorish jokes, scheming, fighting, brotherhood, friendship, and betrayal. Each member of The Grey Bastards has their own charm. Some you end up liking more than others, like Oats and Fetching. The Grey Bastards was a book that I actually found myself laughing out loud while I was reading. The characters breathe life into the pages and leave you wanting more. -- Victoria


Staff Pick Logo
Witchmark Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781250162687
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tom Doherty Associates - June 19th, 2018

This story has many elements – power struggles, casualties of war, love, steampunk, subterfuge, greater good, magic, witchcraft. Dr. Miles Singer, returned from the war, has hidden the fact that he is still alive from his family. If found out, his magical powers would be bound and subjugated to those of his sister. The dying decree of a man brought in by an enigmatic gentleman to the hospital where Miles practices (Tristan Hunter) sets the course for Miles and Tristan to discover the darkness within returning soldiers, why magical is dying, and where have so many souls gone.  I really enjoyed this story and following the characters as they discover one hidden truth after another. This is C.L. Polk’s debut novel and is the beginning of a series. Can’t wait for the next book!  -- Christine


Staff Pick Logo
The Book of M: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780062669605
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: William Morrow - June 5th, 2018

The Book of M is so much more than an exciting, hyper-violent post-apocalyptic zombie thriller. The tale’s “zombies” are people who have lost their shadows and memory, creatures of fear who can be swayed by love. The main story is a love story about how Ory and Max are separated after Max loses her memory and how they traverse a devastated America searching for each other, despite all the crazies and zealots and terrifying death-kites, to arrive at last at a very moving and unexpected conclusion. The Book of M is a surprising and profound book, complete with fascinating reflections on Peter Pan, magical realism, and love. Very highly recommended. – David Joslin


Staff Pick Logo
London Rules (Slough House #5) Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9781616959616
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Soho Crime - June 5th, 2018

London Rules is a mordantly funny British spy novel set in present day London. The fifth installment of the superb Jackson Lamb series, it features a group of oddball, defunct MI-5 agents relegated to Slough House, the Secret Service equivalent of Siberia. Their boss is the politically incorrect Jackson Lamb, a former top field operative who hides his brilliance and humanity under a thick layer of repugnance. Their dull world is shaken-up when one of them realizes that a series of recent, bizarre terrorist attacks are related to a leaked document containing dark secrets from MI-5’s past. The Slough House group bumbles into action, and we are treated to an ingenious plot, brilliantly crafted characters, absurdly clever dialogue, and scathing political satire. Herron’s prose is sublime, and his mix of serious themes, current events, biting social commentary, dry humor, and empathy is unparalleled in modern spy fiction. Highly recommended for fans of espionage and dark comedy. — Kim


Staff Pick Logo
Death Notice Cover Image
By Zhou Haohui, Zac Haluza (Translator)
$26.95
ISBN: 9780385543323
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Doubleday Books - June 5th, 2018

Death Notice is a gripping cat-and-mouse thriller by China’s foremost suspense writer, Zhou Haohui. The story pits an elite Chengdu police task force against an elusive vigilante assassin who crowdsources his victims. The killer calls himself Eumenides, after the Greek goddesses of vengeance, and, prior to each assassination, he sends the police a “death notice,” detailing his next victim’s name, alleged crimes and date of execution. The constantly shape-shifting plot includes a series of similar murders that occurred 18 years ago. Moral dilemmas and the quest for retribution are prominent themes, and the modern Chengdu setting is an uncommon treat. Death Notice is the first book in a hugely popular trilogy, and the online series based on these novels has over 2.4 billion views in China. Highly recommended for fans of cinematic police thrillers and international crime fiction. — Kim


Staff Pick Logo
Splinter in the Blood: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780062797674
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: William Morrow - June 12th, 2018

Related Editions

Staff Reviews


 

Splinter in the Blood is a mesmerizing debut police thriller set in Liverpool. In the spectacular opening scene, Detective Ruth Lake is holding a loaded pistol and gazing at the bullet hole in her boss’s chest. She and her boss, Detective Greg Carver, had been trying to find a sadistic serial killer whose signature involves laboriously covering his victims’ bodies with bizarre tattoos before poisoning them. Ruth thinks her boss is dead, and she calmly removes crucial evidence from the crime scene. What on earth is she doing? When Ruth realizes Carver is alive, the secrets and lies begin. The story follows Ruth as she investigates both the serial killer case and the shooting, enlisting Carver’s help while he recuperates in the hospital. But both of them are lying, and the serial killer is watching. Ruth and Carver examine tattooing rituals, poisonous plants, symbolism, psychics, and dark secrets as they gradually unravel the truth. This impressive debut features intense and complex protagonists, intriguing supporting characters, a provocative plot, and fascinating forensic details. Highly recommended for fans of psychological thrillers, police procedurals and classic whodunnits. – Kim

 


Staff Pick Logo
My Boyfriend Is a Bear Cover Image
By Pamela Ribon, Cat Farris (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781620104873
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Oni Press - April 10th, 2018

My Boyfriend is a Bear is the book I can’t stop recommending to everyone who’s ever been in a relationship. Nora, a Los Angeles woman who has been in a series of less-rewarding-than-she-deserves relationships, first encounters an American Black Bear in the hills outside LA. She flees, dropping her magazine in the process. When fire later causes the bear to relocate to the metropolitan areas, he rummages in Nora’s trashcans. Despite the unorthodox “meet cute” and protagonists, this is an amazing story of the accommodations we make, and gifts we receive, when we choose to open our hearts. – Maryelizabeth


Staff Pick Logo
My Lady's Choosing: An Interactive Romance Novel Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781683690139
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Quirk Books - April 3rd, 2018

What, per chance, will be the outcome of
My Lady’s Choosing? The course of one’s

life and relationships lies in the hands of the reader, as they determine what activities the unfashionably mature and penniless protagonist will spend her time on and with whom. Not only are the actual story selections a romp, but the footnotes by Zageris and Curran add a soupçon of extra delight. Fun for romance readers of all genres, not just period romances. – Maryelizabeth


Staff Pick Logo
Love Me Never (Lovely Vicious #1) Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781633752290
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Entangled Publishing - April 5th, 2016

"Love Me Never by Sara Wolf"Life is full of ups and downs and navigating your teenage years can be difficult. It is full of your highest highs but lowest lows and high school is the ultimate battlefield. This book is the classic tale of the strong willed new girl in town who is an outcast plus the bad boy everyone wants but can’t have and how their hate for each other just might become something more. It is done perfectly and with beautifully real characters who show how growth can be painful and messy but possible. The cold exterior we sometimes create is simply the best armor we can find to get through all the hurt buried deep inside and wrapped in scars. 

The fun dialogue hooked me right away and the pacing of the chapters kept me reading until I was done. I’ve never read a book that so perfectly placed me inside the head of a smart, sarcastic, but troubled teenager and I loved every minute of it." -- Constance


Staff Pick Logo
Children of Blood and Bone (Children of Orisha #1) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250170972
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Henry Holt & Company - March 6th, 2018

Children of Blood and Bone, the first book in Tomi’s Legacy of Orisha young adult fantasy trilogy, introduces readers to the West Africa-reminiscent kingdom and its once common, now persecuted minority magic wielders, the divîners. Tomi interweaves the point of view of divîner Zélie Adebola, who is both eager and fearful to embrace her heritage, and fanatically anti-maji King Saran’s offspring, Princess Amari who questions the established narrative, and Crown Prince Inan, torn between fulfilling his father’s expectations and determining his own values. At times as graphically brutal as it is compelling, this stellar new fantasy will have an enduring legacy. Highly recommended. – Maryelizabeth