Red Queen (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
Red Queen Cover Image
$17.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


This YA debut (and Indies Introduce New Voices pick!) has everything I could possibly want in a dystopian fantasy: a rebellious heroine, a dangerous love triangle, and seemingly impossible odds. It all takes place in a world where the color of your blood determines your fate; the superhuman Silvers lord over the common Reds. 17-year-old Mare Barrows bleeds red. She’s a thief who, through a twist of fate, unleashes a power that shocks not only herself but an entire Silver court. Mare is forced to take on the identity of a long-lost Silver princess until the king and queen can figure out what to do with her. It’s a deadly game of double crossings as Mare finds herself caught between the Red rebellion and a Silver prince. Part love story and part revolutionary saga, this is the first in a trilogy with the sequel not coming out soon enough

— From Sarah Chen

Description


The #1 New York Times bestselling series!

Red Queen, by #1 New York Times bestselling author Victoria Aveyard, is a sweeping tale of power, intrigue, and betrayal, perfect for fans of George R.R. Martin’s Game of Thrones series.

Mare Barrow's world is divided by blood—those with common, Red blood serve the Silver-blooded elite, who are gifted with superhuman abilities. Mare is a Red, scraping by as a thief in a poor, rural village, until a twist of fate throws her in front of the Silver court. Before the king, princes, and all the nobles, she discovers she has an ability of her own.

To cover up this impossibility, the king forces her to play the role of a lost Silver princess and betroths her to one of his own sons. As Mare is drawn further into the Silver world, she risks everything and uses her new position to help the Scarlet Guard—a growing Red rebellion—even as her heart tugs her in an impossible direction.

One wrong move can lead to her death, but in the dangerous game she plays, the only certainty is betrayal.

And don’t miss War Storm, the thrilling final book in the bestselling Red Queen series!

Praise For…


“A sizzling, imaginative thriller, where romance and revolution collide, where power and justice duel. It’s exhilarating. Compelling. Action-packed. Unputdownable.”

“Aveyard weaves a compelling new world of action-packed surprises... inventive, character-driven.”

“A volatile world with a dynamic heroine.”

“Breakneck pace and engaging characters.”

“ [Aveyard] sets her audience up for a gaspworthy twist that reconfigures nearly every character’s role and leaves Mare with no one to trust but herself... This blend of fantasy and dystopia will be an unexpected and worthy addition to many genre fans’ reading list.”

“Fascinating world building... Readers will be intrigued by a world that reflects today’s troubling issues concerning ethnic inequality, unfair distribution of wealth, pollution, warfare, political corruption, and the frightening power of the media.”
Product Details
ISBN: 9780062310637
ISBN-10: 0062310631
Publisher: HarperTeen
Publication Date: February 10th, 2015
Pages: 400
Language: English
Series: Red Queen