Flashmob (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
Flashmob Cover Image
$26.99
On Our Shelves Now
Mysterious Galaxy Books
7 on hand, as of Dec 10 10:01am
(Science Fiction & Fantasy)

Staff Reviews


In this sequel to Killfile, mind reader John Smith must track down an internet mastermind who has created an encrypted site on the “dark net” called “Downvote”. This site lists names of celebrities and bounties offered for their demise, causing a deadly flashmob almost impossible to defend against. After tracking down an elusive billionaire who is threatened, Smith teams up with the billionaire’s scary tough female bodyguard to track down this nefarious criminal. The chase leads them all over the world, from Hong Kong to Iceland to Laos. This guy is elusive, but it’s almost impossible to hide from a tough guy who can also read minds. I love chase novels, whether the good guy is being chased or doing the chasing. When the bad guy becomes aware of Smith’s pursuit, you guessed it, the chaser becomes the chased. Great fast-paced thriller with scary implications regarding our internet privacy and safety. Recommended for fans of Michael Crichton and James Rollins.

— From Linda's Latest List

Description


Publishers Weekly's Best Books of 2017

Gifted troubleshooter John Smith, introduced in the acclaimed thriller Killfile, must take down a shadowy figure who has weaponized the internet, using social media to put a price on the heads of his targets in this intense, unstoppable thriller from the author reviewers have compared to Michael Crichton, Brad Thor, and James Rollins.

As a fixer for America's one percent, John Smith cleans up the messes of those rich enough to afford him. But he's no ordinary gun for hire. Smith is a man of rare gifts, including the ability to read minds. Arriving at the wedding of Kira Sadeghi, a reality television celebrity he recently saved from kidnappers, Smith witnesses a group of gunmen open fire, hitting the bride and others. Though he's unarmed, Smith cripples one of the killers and is able to pry one word from his mind: "Downvote."

Eager to learn more, Smith hacks into the brain of an FBI agent investigating the attack to discover the Bureau has been investigating a nefarious new threat called "Downvote," an encrypted site on the "dark net" that lists the names of celebrities and offers a hefty bounty for anyone who can kill them--unleashing an anonymous and deadly flashmob with a keystroke.

Finding a mastermind on the internet is like trying to catch air--unless you're John Smith. Motivated by money and revenge, he traces a series of electronic signatures to a reclusive billionaire living at sea, accompanied by a scary-smart female bodyguard who becomes Smith's partner in his quest. The hunt for their prey will lead from Hong Kong to Reykjavik to a luxury gambling resort deep in the Laotian jungle. Yet always this criminal mastermind remains one step ahead.

The only way Downvote's creator can stop Smith is to kill him . . . because while this diabolical genius can run, there's no hiding from a man who can read minds.

Product Details
ISBN: 9780062568496
ISBN-10: 0062568493
Publisher: William Morrow & Company
Publication Date: June 27th, 2017
Pages: 368
Language: English