Defy the Stars (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
Defy the Stars Cover Image
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now
Mysterious Galaxy Books
4 on hand, as of Dec 12 1:45am
(Young Adult Novels 12 and up)

Staff Reviews


Noemi Vidal is a soldier of Genesis, a former colony world of Earth locked in a drawn-out war for its independence.  During a skirmish she ends up stranded on a derelict ship, where she comes across Abel – the most advanced Earth mech ever built and the only one of his kind.  Bound by his programming, Abel is drawn into Noemi’s plan to end the conflict once and for all...even at the cost of his own life.  As they journey across the stars, these two kindred souls form a bond that goes beyond mere programming.  Can Noemi still condemn Abel to death, even in the face of his emerging humanity?  And what is Abel’s true purpose?  The artful prose combined with alternating perspectives of the two immensely likeable protagonists will keep you turning the pages, all the way to the bittersweet end.

— From Darcy's Picks

Description


From the New York Times bestselling author of Star Wars: Lost Stars and Bloodline comes a thrilling sci-fi adventure that Kass Morgan, bestselling author of The 100 series, calls "startlingly original and achingly romantic...nothing short of masterful."
She's a soldier -- Noemi Vidal is willing to risk anything to protect her planet, Genesis, including her own life. To their enemies on Earth, she's a rebel.
He's a machine -- Abandoned in space for years, utterly alone, Abel's advanced programming has begun to evolve. He wants only to protect his creator, and to be free. To the people of Genesis, he's an abomination.
Noemi and Abel are enemies in an interstellar war, forced by chance to work together as they embark on a daring journey through the stars. Their efforts would end the fighting for good, but they're not without sacrifice. The stakes are even higher than either of them first realized, and the more time they spend together, the more they're forced to question everything they'd been taught was true.
An epic and romantic adventure, perfect for fans of The Lunar Chronicles and Illuminae.

About the Author


Claudia Gray is the New York Times bestselling author of many science fiction and paranormal fantasy books for young adults, including Defy the Stars, Defy the Worlds, the Firebird series, the Evernight series, the Spellcaster series, and Fateful. She's also had a chance to work in a galaxy far, far away as the author of the Star Wars novels Lost Stars, Bloodline, and Leia, Princess of Alderaan. Born a fangirl, she loves obsessing over geeky movies and TV shows, as well as reading and occasionally writing fanfiction; however, she periodically leaves the house to go kayaking, do a little hiking, or travel the world. She will take your Jane Austen trivia challenge any day, anytime. Currently she lives in New Orleans.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780316394031
ISBN-10: 0316394033
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: April 4th, 2017
Pages: 512
Language: English
Series: Defy the Stars