The Reader (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
The Reader Cover Image
$19.99
On Our Shelves Now
Mysterious Galaxy Books
1 on hand, as of Dec 10 10:01am
(Young Adult Novels 12 and up)

Staff Reviews


Assassins, thieves, and pirates fill the pages of Traci Chee’s The Reader. In this world where reading and writing is forbidden, stories are told through tales and song. The book itself is told through tales and stories in alternating point-of-views, and details are slowly revealed about this landscape filled with hidden magic and danger around each corner. The Reader is simply fantasy with mystery and enigma; a puzzle you will need to solve. And as you are reading, you will become desperate for answers. Here is a book that is voracious and demands attention. In the midst of secret societies, unspoken rules, and relationships between master and apprentice, Chee will dazzle you with adventure and a diverse and mesmerizing cast of characters. Above all else, Chee's words will lure you into her intricate world.

-Guest reviewer Michelle

Description


Instant New York Times Bestseller

A stunning debut set in a world where reading is unheard-of, perfect for fans of Inkheart and Shadow and Bone

Sefia knows what it means to survive. After her father is brutally murdered, she flees into the wilderness with her aunt Nin, who teaches her to hunt, track, and steal. But when Nin is kidnapped, leaving Sefia completely alone, none of her survival skills can help her discover where Nin's been taken, or if she's even alive. The only clue to both her aunt's disappearance and her father's murder is the odd rectangular object her father left behind, an object she comes to realize is a book--a marvelous item unheard of in her otherwise illiterate society. With the help of this book, and the aid of a mysterious stranger with dark secrets of his own, Sefia sets out to rescue her aunt and find out what really happened the day her father was killed--and punish the people responsible.

With overlapping stories of swashbuckling pirates and merciless assassins, The Reader is a brilliantly told adventure from an extraordinary new talent.

About the Author


Traci Chee is an all-around word geek, she loves book arts and art books, poetry and paper crafts. She studied literature and creative writing at the University of California, Santa Cruz, and earned a master of arts degree from San Francisco State University. Traci grew up in a small town with more cows than people, and now feels most at home in the mountains, scaling switchbacks and happening upon hidden highland lakes. She lives in California with her fast-fast dog. The Reader is her YA debut.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780399176777
ISBN-10: 0399176772
Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: September 13th, 2016
Pages: 464
Language: English
Series: Sea of Ink and Gold