Image result for twitter black and white logo Image result for instagram logo black and whiteRelated image Related image

To Catch a Killer: A Novel (Erin Blake #1) (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
To Catch a Killer: A Novel (Erin Blake #1) Cover Image
$9.99
On Our Shelves Now
Mysterious Galaxy Books
1 on hand, as of Aug 23 8:45pm
(Mystery Suspense)

Staff Reviews


High school is hard for some kids. We all know that, but it is especially difficult for Erin Blake. When Erin was three her mother was brutally murdered, but Erin was spared. Fourteen years later and the murder is still unsolved. Erin’s biology teacher, Miss Peters, is helping Erin with a project to see if she can discover the identity of her father. When Miss Peters is murdered, Erin discovers her body. Erin believes the two murders are connected. Along with her BFFs Spam and Lysa she sets about to see if they can discover the identity of the murderer. Erin is intelligent, persistent, and not always likable. She keeps secrets from her friends and her guardian, Rachel, her mother’s best friend who took her in – secrets that put her and her friends in harm’s way. The mystery has a satisfactory ending, but also leaves the door open for further adventures.

— From Christine's Choices

Description


“A twisty, cold-case mystery custom made for fans of Sara Shepard, PLL and Veronica Mars! The edge-of-your-seat plot, sinister backstory and smart, brave and irreverent main character made this whodunit unputdownable.”—Justine Magazine

In To Catch a Killer, a contemporary mystery by debut author Sheryl Scarborough, a teenage girl uses forensic science to solve the cold-case murder of her mother. Erin Blake has one of those names. A name that is inextricably linked to a grisly crime. As a toddler, Erin survived for three days alongside the corpse of her murdered mother, and the case—which remains unsolved—fascinated a nation. Her father's identity unknown, Erin was taken in by her mother's best friend and has become a relatively normal teen in spite of the looming questions about her past.

Fourteen years later, Erin is once again at the center of a brutal homicide when she finds the body of her biology teacher. When questioned by the police, Erin tells almost the whole truth, but never voices her suspicions that her mother's killer has struck again in order to protect the casework she's secretly doing on her own.

Inspired by her uncle, an FBI agent, Erin has ramped up her forensic hobby into a full-blown cold-case investigation. This new murder makes her certain she's close to the truth, but when all the evidence starts to point the authorities straight to Erin, she turns to her longtime crush (and fellow suspect) Journey Michaels to help her crack the case before it's too late.

About the Author


SHERYL SCARBOROUGH is an award-winning writer for children’s television, having written for shows such as Kim Possible, Doug, Tiny Toon Adventures and Punky, among many other credits. She is the author of mystery novel To Catch a Killer. She holds an MFA in Writing for Children and Young Adults from Vermont College of Fine Arts, lives in Washington state, and has always had an obsession with forensics. When she was twelve, her home was the target of a Peeping Tom. Sheryl diligently photographed his footprints and collected the candy wrappers he left behind. Unfortunately, he was never caught. But the desire to use evidence to solve a great mystery was sparked inside Scarborough all the same.

Praise For…


“Scarborough has written an intense, engrossing debut. Readers will root for Erin to find answers, laugh at her friends’ antics as they play detective, and struggle to identify the killer in a plot full of red herrings and multiple suspects. This solid mystery will easily grab the attention of fans of the genre.”—Booklist

To Catch a Killer is a tense, storming heartbeat of a thriller. Scarborough’s tightly woven story merges forensic intrigue with friendship, romance, and family, nailing the dynamic stylings of Veronica Mars and the playful spirit of Bones. I could not put it down.”—Cori McCarthy, author of Breaking Sky

"The fast-paced plot and Veronica Mars-esque protagonist make this book a good fit for avid mystery readers."—School Library Journal

"Scarborough brings Erin to life as a teenager with a damaged past...there are enough red herrings and forensic activity to keep everyone entertained all the way through the climatic end."—VOYA

“A relatable cast and well thought-out plot make this mystery a Sherlockian puzzle sure to impress the most hardened crime-procedural fanatic. Don your deer-stalker caps, gumshoes, you’re in for a twisty ride.”—Mary Elizabeth Summer, author of Trust Me, I’m Lying

Product Details
ISBN: 9780765381927
ISBN-10: 0765381923
Publisher: Tor Teen
Publication Date: February 27th, 2018
Pages: 336
Language: English
Series: Erin Blake