Wintersong: A Novel (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
Wintersong: A Novel Cover Image
$18.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


 

Wintersong is a retelling of the Goblin King in early 19th century Europe that focuses on Liesl, a female composer whose music can melt even the Lord of Mischief's heart. But a female composer is a nonexistent thing in her time and Liesl is slowly forced away from her talent and passion as the duties of running the family inn fall on her shoulders. She begins to ignore the woods and the dangerous games she played with a mysterious boy that -- if remembered -- might just free her, if they don't kill her first.

S.Jae-Jones has created a lush, seductive world that explores the journey of embracing oneself and the sacrifices it can require. Set in a hauntingly dark world, this book shows how nothing is gained for free and how to win one thing, another must be lost.The choice is always ours but so are the consequences. The magic, passion, and danger of this book held me captive until the very end. A truly beautiful read and a phenomenal debut.

— Constance

Description


Wintersong is a maze of beauty and darkness, of music and magic and glittering things, all tied together with exquisite writing. This is a world you will want to stay lost in.” —Marie Lu, #1 New York Times bestselling author

Dark, romantic, and unforgettable, Wintersong is an enchanting coming-of-age story for fans of Labyrinth and Beauty and the Beast.


The last night of the year. Now the days of winter begin and the Goblin King rides abroad, searching for his bride…

All her life, Liesl has heard tales of the beautiful, dangerous Goblin King. They’ve enraptured her mind, her spirit, and inspired her musical compositions. Now eighteen and helping to run her family’s inn, Liesl can’t help but feel that her musical dreams and childhood fantasies are slipping away.

But when her own sister is taken by the Goblin King, Liesl has no choice but to journey to the Underground to save her. Drawn to the strange, captivating world she finds—and the mysterious man who rules it—she soon faces an impossible decision. And with time and the old laws working against her, Liesl must discover who she truly is before her fate is sealed.

Rich with music and magic, S. Jae-Jones's Wintersong will sweep you away into a world you won’t soon forget.

"This was Labyrinth by way of Angela Carter. Deliciously romantic, with a nuanced Goblin King and a strong heroine, this story was rife with fairy tales, music, and enchantment." —Roshani Chokshi, New York Times bestselling author of The Star-Touched Queen

About the Author


S. Jae-Jones (called JJ) is an artist, an adrenaline junkie, and erstwhile editrix. When not obsessing over books, she can be found jumping out of perfectly good airplanes, co-hosting the Pub(lishing) Crawl podcast, or playing dress-up. Born and raised in Los Angeles, she now lives in North Carolina, as well as many other places on the internet, including Twitter, Tumblr, Facebook, Instagram, and her blog.

Praise For…


“The legend of the cruel and pitiless Erl-king anchors a darkly lush and dangerous tale of a stifled young woman’s creative awakening. Beautiful writing evokes powerful emotions in this journey into the meaning of sacrifice and the power of love.”—Kate Elliott, New York Times bestselling author of the Crossroads and Crown of Stars series

"Wintersong is a maze of beauty and darkness, of music and magic and glittering things, all tied together with exquisite writing. This is a world you will want to stay lost in."—Marie Lu, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Legend and The Young Elites

"Spellbinding and sexy, Wintersong is a feast for all the senses. I didn't want this beautifully written book to end."—Renée Ahdieh, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Wrath and the Dawn

"This was Labyrinth by way of Angela Carter, and I think my soul has been aching for a book like Wintersong for the last decade. Deliciously romantic, with a nuanced Goblin King and a strong heroine, this story was rife with fairy tales, music, and enchantment."—Roshani Chokshi, New York Times bestselling author of The Star-Touched Queen

"S. Jae-Jones has a great grasp of emotion in her writing, and plucks your heart-strings from the very first pages. This story will make you hurt in the most fantastic way. It is captivating. A very strong debut."—Charlie N. Holmberg, bestselling author of The Paper Magician

"This is an exquisitely and lyrically crafted tale of longing, sibling loyalty, and the importance of women in a time when women were so often overlooked. Eerie, unsettling, and above all, full of music." —Booklist (starred review)

"Jae-Jones writes beautifully about the magic of love, the power of music, and the importance of free will." —Publishers Weekly

"Structured as a sonata, the final movement culminates in a bittersweet sacrifice that will leave readers... savoring the delicious tragedy." —Kirkus Reviews

"[R]ife with intricate details and world-building, as well as the charged relationship between Liesl and the Goblin King. Fans of Gregory Maguire's Egg & Spoon or E.K. Johnston's A Thousand Nights will be drawn to the in-depth depictions of the goblin's realm." —School Library Journal

Product Details
ISBN: 9781250079213
ISBN-10: 1250079217
Publisher: A Thomas Dunne Book for St. Martin's Griffin
Publication Date: February 7th, 2017
Pages: 448
Language: English
Series: Wintersong