A Vision of Fire: Book 1 of the Earthend Saga (Paperback)

Staff Pick Logo
A Vision of Fire: Book 1 of the Earthend Saga Cover Image
$15.00
On Our Shelves Now
Mysterious Galaxy Books
1 on hand, as of Dec 12 1:45am
(Science Fiction & Fantasy)

Staff Reviews


India and Pakistan are on the brink of nuclear war; child psychologist Caitlin O’Hara is treating the daughter of India’s ambassador to the United Nations for her violent visions and speaking in tongues, while a thief steals a strange silvery stone relic from a lab aboard a survey ship in the South Atlantic. How do these occurrences relate to one another? These are the clues to an ancient lost world of human beings who lived on Antarctica before it became a frozen wasteland and before our species developed. Is there a connection between these souls of the past and possessed teenagers in our present? And what about those rats overrunning New York City? This fast-paced mystical thriller will keep you on the edge of your seat until the last ”wow!”

— From Linda's Latest List

Description


A Vision of Fire is the explosive first novel from iconic X-Files star Gillian Anderson and New York Times bestselling author Jeff Rovin: "Fans of Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child will find a lot to like" (Publishers Weekly).

Renowned child psychologist Caitlin O'Hara is a single mom trying to juggle her job, her son, and a lackluster dating life. Her world is suddenly upturned when Maanik, the daughter of India's ambassador to the United Nations starts speaking in tongues and having violent visions. Maanik's parents are sure that her fits have something to do with the recent assassination attempt on her father--a shooting that has escalated nuclear tensions between India and Pakistan to dangerous levels--but when children start having similar outbursts around the world, Caitlin begins to think that there's a stranger force at work.

In Haiti, a student claws at her throat, drowning on dry land. In Iran, a boy suddenly and inexplicably bursts into flame. On the Pakistan border, a young man feels a burning in his chest and, against his will, opens fire on Indian troops. With Asia on the cusp of nuclear war, Caitlin must race across the globe and uncover the supernatural links between these seemingly unrelated cases in order to save her patient--and perhaps the world.

The first in a series, A Vision of Fire is a pulse-pounding thriller that will leave you gasping for more.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781476776538
ISBN-10: 1476776539
Publisher: Simon & Schuster/ Simon451
Publication Date: November 24th, 2015
Pages: 304
Language: English
Series: Earthend Saga