Image result for twitter black and white logo Image result for instagram logo black and whiteRelated image Image result for email logo black and white

The Chaos of Standing Still (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
The Chaos of Standing Still Cover Image
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now
Mysterious Galaxy Books
1 on hand, as of Nov 18 9:45am
(Young Adult Novels 12 and up)

Staff Reviews


On the eve of the one-year anniversary of her best friend Lottie’s death, 18-year-old Ryn has even less desire than most travelers to spend one long day and night snowed in at the Denver airport. However, a chance encounter with a stranger with the same cell phone and case is the first in a series of events that draw Ryn out of her protective self-imposed emotional and artistic stasis. Lottie sent Ryn a text message right before her death; to Ryn’s magical thinking process, as long as it remains unread, there’s still a part of Lottie alive in her world. Charming, immediately emotional, and filled with wry observations about life, death, and the universe’s tendency towards chaos, this is a rewarding read.

— Maryelizabeth

Description


“Jessica Brody has made me believe that getting stuck in an airport overnight would be the most fantastic thing in the world. I fell hard for this story of love, loss, friendship, and bad airport food. I loved it!” —Morgan Matson, New York Times bestselling author of The Unexpected Everything

Over the course of one chaotic night stranded at the Denver airport, Ryn confronts her shattered past thanks to the charm of romance, the uniqueness of strangers, and the magic of ordinary places in this stunning novel from the author of Boys of Summer.

Ryn has one unread text message on her phone. And it’s been there for almost a year.

She hasn’t tried to read it. She can’t. She won’t. Because that one message is the last thing her best friend ever said to her before she died.

But as Ryn finds herself trapped in the Denver International Airport on New Year’s Eve thanks to a never-ending blizzard on the one-year anniversary of her best friend’s death, fate literally runs into her.

And his name is Xander.

When the two accidentally swap phones, Ryn and Xander are thrust into the chaos of an unforgettable all-night adventure, filled with charming and mysterious strangers, a secret New Year’s Eve bash, and a possible Illuminati conspiracy hidden within the Denver airport. But as the bizarre night continues, all Ryn can think about is that one unread text message. It follows her wherever she goes, because Ryn can’t get her brialliantly wild and free-spirited best friend out of her head.

Ryn can’t move on.

But tonight, for the first time ever, she’s trying. And maybe that’s a start.

As moving as it is funny, The Chaos of Standing Still is a heartwarming story about the earth-shattering challenges life throws at us—and the unexpected strangers who help us along the way.

About the Author


Jessica Brody is the author of several popular novels for teens and tweens, including The Geography of Lost Things, 52 Reasons to Hate My FatherA Week of Mondays, Better You Than Me, and the Unremembered trilogy. She lives with her husband and four dogs near Portland, Oregon. Visit her online at JessicaBrody.com.

Praise For…


“A beautiful and deftly told story of letting go and starting over. The Chaos of Standing Still is laugh out loud funny, deeply stirring, and of course wonderfully swoony, You'll love it.”

 
— –Julie Buxbaum, New York Times bestselling author of Tell Me Three Things

"Even those who haven’t experienced a devastating loss like Ryn’s will relate to her struggle: feeling stuck between moving on and holding on. Ryn’s one year/one night journey to find her new normal is funny, insightful, empowering, and filled with heart.”

 
— — Tamara Ireland Stone, New York Times bestselling author of Every Last Word

"Jessica Brody has made me believe that getting stuck in an airport overnight would be the most fantastic thing in the world. I fell hard for this story of love, loss, friendship, and bad airport food. I loved it!”
— – Morgan Matson, New York Times bestselling author of The Unexpected Everything

“Absorbing from first page to last, Brody’s novel gradually unveils Ryn’s complicated history and celebrates her most profound moments of truth.

“This will appeal to fans of Jennifer E. Smith’s books and Nicola Yoon’s Everything, Everything.”

“Brody’s novel is a smart portrayal of what remains not only in the wake of a friend’s death but in the absence of one who cast a long shadow in life.”
Product Details
ISBN: 9781481499187
ISBN-10: 1481499181
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Publication Date: November 28th, 2017
Pages: 416
Language: English