Image result for twitter black and white logo Image result for instagram logo black and whiteRelated image Image result for email logo black and white

The Cruel Prince (The Folk of the Air) (CD-Audio)

Staff Pick Logo
The Cruel Prince (The Folk of the Air) Cover Image
By Holly Black, Caitlin Kelly (Read by)
Email or call for price.
Special Order

Staff Reviews


I was enthralled by Holly Black’s tale of Jude, a mortal teen raised in Faerie and determined to earn a permanent place for herself. Holly not only involves readers with familiar themes of teen alienation from family (including fey and mortal and blended siblings), choosing one’s own path and companions, and conflicts with schoolmates (who just happen to be Faerie royalty), but also builds a Faerie that is wonderfully weird and alien. Recommended for fans of Laini Taylor and Kiersten White. 

— Maryelizabeth

Description


An instant bestseller!

By #1 New York Times bestselling author Holly Black, the first book in a stunning new series about a mortal girl who finds herself caught in a web of royal faerie intrigue.

Of course I want to be like them. They're beautiful as blades forged in some divine fire. They will live forever.

And Cardan is even more beautiful than the rest. I hate him more than all the others. I hate him so much that sometimes when I look at him, I can hardly breathe.

Jude was seven years old when her parents were murdered and she and her two sisters were stolen away to live in the treacherous High Court of Faerie. Ten years later, Jude wants nothing more than to belong there, despite her mortality. But many of the fey despise humans. Especially Prince Cardan, the youngest and wickedest son of the High King.

To win a place at the Court, she must defy him--and face the consequences.

In doing so, she becomes embroiled in palace intrigues and deceptions, discovering her own capacity for bloodshed. But as civil war threatens to drown the Courts of Faerie in violence, Jude will need to risk her life in a dangerous alliance to save her sisters, and Faerie itself.

About the Author


Holly Black is the bestselling author of contemporary fantasy novels for teens and children, including Tithe: A Modern Faerie Tale and the #1 New York Times bestselling Spiderwick series. She has been a finalist for the Mythopoeic Award and the Eisner Award, and the recipient of the Andre Norton Award. Holly lives in Massachusetts with her husband, Theo, in a house with a secret library. Her website is www.blackholly.com.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781549140075
ISBN-10: 1549140078
Publisher: Little, Brown Young Readers
Publication Date: January 2nd, 2018
Language: English
Series: The Folk of the Air