The Library of Fates (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
The Library of Fates Cover Image
$18.99
On Our Shelves Now
Mysterious Galaxy Books
9 on hand, as of Dec 10 10:01am
(Young Adult Novels 12 and up)

Staff Reviews


"The Library of Fates is a well-crafted story that surrounds you with its vivid descriptions while maintaining a quick pace that never makes you feel bogged down or bored. The story follows princess Amrita who lives in a flourishing country called Shalingar. She has been betrothed to a harsh and conquering ruler to save her kingdom and the rest of the story unfolds from there. Though this may sound like an action-packed tale, its main focus is on the character’s self-actualization as she struggles to try and save her kingdom at any cost.

I can happily say this book was a breath of fresh air for me and doesn’t compare plot wise to anything I have recently read. While a quick read and enjoyable, it had depth to it in areas I was not expecting. It left me in a very calm, zen like mood as I turned the last page with a smile on my face."

- Constance's Collection  

Description


A romantic coming-of-age fantasy tale steeped in Indian folklore, perfect for fans of The Star-Touched Queen and The Wrath and the Dawn

"Aditi Khorana has whipped up the perfect book recipe: a rogue princess, a freed oracle, and a library with the power to change your fate " --Justine Magazine

No one is entirely certain what brings the Emperor Sikander to Shalingar. Until now, the idyllic kingdom has been immune to his many violent conquests. To keep the visit friendly, Princess Amrita has offered herself as his bride, sacrificing everything--family, her childhood love, and her freedom--to save her people. But her offer isn't enough.

The palace is soon under siege, and Amrita finds herself a fugitive, utterly alone but for an oracle named Thala, who was kept by Sikander as a slave and managed to escape amid the chaos. With nothing and no one else to turn to, Amrita and Thala are forced to rely on one another. But while Amrita feels responsible for her kingdom and sets out to warn her people, the newly free Thala has no such ties. She encourages Amrita to go on a quest to find the fabled Library of All Things, where it is possible for each of them to reverse their fates. To go back to before Sikander took everything from them.

Stripped of all that she loves, caught between her rosy past and an unknown future, will Amrita be able to restore what was lost, or does another life--and another love--await?

About the Author


Aditi Khorana spent parts of her childhood in India, Denmark, and New England. She has a BA in international relations from Brown University and an MA in global media and communications from the Annenberg School for Communication. She has worked as a journalist at ABC News, CNN, and PBS, and most recently as a marketing executive consulting for various Hollywood studios including Fox, Paramount, and Sony. She is also the author of Mirror in the Sky. She lives in Los Angeles and spends her free time reading, hiking, and exploring LA's eclectic and wonderful architecture. For more information, visit aditikhorana.com.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781595148582
ISBN-10: 1595148582
Publisher: Razorbill
Publication Date: July 18th, 2017
Pages: 336
Language: English