This Is What Happened (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
This Is What Happened Cover Image
On Our Shelves Now
Mysterious Galaxy Books
3 on hand, as of Jul 22 1:45am
(SP Mystery)

Staff Reviews

This Is What Happened is a mesmerizing psychological thriller with a strikingly clever plot. It begins when an ordinary young woman is recruited by MI5 to install a surveillance program onto a London company’s computer network. The riveting account of her attempt to do this is followed by a shocking plot twist that completely shape-shifts the story. More surprises follow. Mick Herron’s talent is on full display in this compulsively readable book, which includes spies, misogyny, Stockholm Syndrome, missing people, and sisterly love. For fans of psychological suspense and dark, literary thrillers.

— From Kim Devoe


From CWA Gold & Steel Dagger winner Mick Herron comes a shocking, twisted novel of thrilling suspense about one woman's attempt to be better than ordinary.

Twenty-six-year-old Maggie Barnes is someone you would never look at twice. Living alone in a month-to-month sublet in the huge city of London, with no family but an estranged sister, no boyfriend or partner, and not much in the way of friends, Maggie is just the kind of person who could vanish from the face of the earth without anyone taking notice. Or just the kind of person MI5 needs to infiltrate the establishment and thwart an international plot that puts all of Britain at risk.

Now one young woman has the chance to be a hero--if she can think quickly enough to stay alive.

About the Author

Mick Herron was born in Newcastle and has a degree in English from Balliol College, Oxford. He is the author of ten other novels, Slow Horses, Dead Lions, Nobody Walks, Real Tigers, Spook Street, Down Cemetery Road, The Last Voice You Hear, Why We Die, Smoke and Whispers, and Reconstruction, as well as the novella The List. His work has won the CWA Gold Dagger for Best Crime Novel, the Steel Dagger for Best Thriller, and the Ellery Queen Readers Award, and been nominated for the Macavity, Barry, Shamus, and Theakstons Novel of the Year Awards.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781616958619
ISBN-10: 1616958618
Publisher: Soho Crime
Publication Date: January 30th, 2018
Pages: 272
Language: English