Fantastic Firsts

Fantastic Firsts: Monthly Book Subscription

So many good books come out each month and it can be hard to pick the next great read you want to dive into. That’s where we come in! Fantastic Firsts is our monthly book subscription program where our staff hand picks 4-6 of our favorite new books each month. Our selections will always include science fiction / fantasy, young adult, and mystery hardcovers as well as a cozy and any other books we felt you had to hear about. As a subscriber, you can pick one or more of these books each month and will get an exclusive 20% discount. Subscribers can either pick their books up in store or have them shipped to their home. 

How to Join: Call us at 858.268.4747, email us at mgbooks [@] mystgalaxy (dot) com, or come on into the store and a bookseller will sign you up. 

In Store Pick: Books will be paid for in store when you pick them up. If you haven't picked up your book by the 15th of the month you'll get a call reminding you your book is on hold and waiting for you.   

Home Delivery: You can pay over the phone via credit card or for ease we can keep your credit card on file and charge it after you confirm which book you'd like. If there is a specefic genre you'd like shipped to you each month (for example you'd like to get a cozy every month) we can automatically charge your card and ship you the book of each month.     

Book Bundles: This is a great gift option for someone and includes the cost of shipping! For the set prices listed below the member will get a book each month for three months (3 books total). 

  • Science Fiction/Fantasy or Mystery Hardcover Subscription  = $68.99
  • Young Adult Hardcover Subscription Subscription  = $49.99
  • Cozy Mysteries (Paperback) Subscription = $25.99                                                      

As a subscriber you are agreeing to buy a book each month. If for some reason you don’t want to receive a book one month you can skip.

This Month's Picks!


Science Fiction/ Fantasy

Blood of the Four by Christopher Golden and Tim Lebbon

"Along the way, authors Lebbon and Golden deftly upset reader preconceptions regarding plucky kick-ass princesses and heroic freedom-fighters, to bring the story to a fabulous conclusion, one wholly unexpected, yet perfectly right. Highly recommended!"  -Bookseller David

Add to Cart

Young Adult *signed copies available

Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi

"A sprawling fantasy teeming with deep and meaningful magic. One of the things I like most about this debut is that it raises very real and important issues of our time through multiple character's perspectives. No character is one-dimensional, and every character must learn from failure and introspection to become who they were meant to be." 

- Bookseller Kelly

Add to Cart


Science Fiction / Fantasy

Daughters of the Storm by Kim Wilkins

Five very different sisters team up against their stepbrother to save their kingdom in this Norse-flavored fantasy epic--the start of a new series in the tradition of Naomi Novik, Peter V. Brett, and Robin Hobb.

Add to Cart


Thriller / Science Fiction

The Coincidence Makers by Yoav Blum

In this genre-bending novel, there is no such thing as chance and every action is carefully executed by highly trained agents. You'll never look at coincidences the same way again. Part thriller, part mystery, part love story--Kirkus calls Yoav Blum's The Coincidence Makers "a smart, unpredictable, and heartfelt adventure story."

Add to Cart


Mystery / Suspense Thriller

The Last Equation of Isaac Severy by Nova Jacobs

The Family Fang meets The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry in this literary mystery about a struggling bookseller whose recently deceased grandfather, a famed mathematician, left behind a dangerous equation for her to track down--and protect--before others can get their hands

Add to Cart



Hummus and Homicide by Tina Kashian

When Lucy Berberian quits her Philadelphia law firm and heads home to Ocean Crest, she knows what she's getting--the scent of funnel cake, the sight of the wooden roller coaster, and the tastes of her family's Mediterranean restaurant. But murder wasn't on the menu . . .

Add to Cart


Previous Months

February 2018

January 2018

November 2017

October 2017

September 2017

August 2017