Image result for twitter black and white logo Image result for instagram logo black and whiteRelated image Related image

All We Buried: A Sheriff Bet Rivers Mystery (Hardcover)

Mysterious Galaxy is currently closed for in-store browsing but we remain open for all online orders! Free shipping for media mail rate within the U.S.  

All We Buried: A Sheriff Bet Rivers Mystery Cover Image
$26.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


For fans of Julia Keller and Sheena Kamal, All We Buried disturbs the long-sleeping secrets of a small Washington State mountain town.

Interim sheriff Elizabeth "Bet" Rivers has always had one repeat nightmare: a shadowy figure throwing a suspicious object into her hometown lake in Collier, Washington. For the longest time, she chalked it up to an overactive imagination as a kid. Then the report arrives. In the woods of the Cascade mountain range, right in her jurisdiction, a body floats to the surface of Lake Collier. When the body is extricated and revealed, no one can identify Jane Doe. But someone must know the woman, so why aren't they coming forward?

Bet has been sitting as the interim sheriff of this tiny town in the ill-fitting shoes of her late father and predecessor. With the nightmare on her heels, Bet decided to build a life for herself in Los Angeles, but now it's time to confront the tragic history of Collier. The more she learns, the more Bet realizes she doesn't know the townspeople of Collier as well as she thought, and nothing can prepare her for what she is about to discover.

About the Author


Elena Taylor worked in theater for twenty years before she turned her storytelling skills to fiction. Elena was a playwright, director, designer, technician, and educator. Elena taught a variety of theater classes at the college/university level, as well as Popular Fiction. She also teaches workshops on writing and works one-on-one with writers as a developmental editor and writing coach. She is also the author of a private eye series, published under the name Elena Hartwell. When she's not writing, she can be found playing with her horses, dog, cats, and hanging out with her husband at their home on the Middle Fork of the Snoqualmie River.

Praise For…


Praise for All We Buried:
“Well-crafted…Taylor skillfully sets the scene, describing the distinctive local landscape [while] the introspective, conflicted Bet proves her mettle. Readers will look forward to her next outing.”
Publishers Weekly

“A wonderful protagonist [and] a stellar mystery with a current of tension and suspicion powerful enough to quicken your pulse.”
—Allen Eskens, USA Today bestselling author of The Life We Bury and Nothing More Dangerous

“There's a new sheriff in town...And as the facts of an old mining tragedy emerge, alongside all-too-modern secrets of adultery, betrayal, and abandonment, Bet realizes that this crime is as personal as it gets. For there are things more valuable than the gold in Collier's caves that must be uncovered—and Elena Taylor's gutsy new heroine is just the one to do it. Let's hope this is the start of a long-lived series!
—Jenny Milchman, USA Today bestselling author of Cover of Snow and Wicked River

“At the forefront of this haunting, impeccably plotted mystery by Elena Taylor is a sharp new heroine, Sheriff Bet Rivers, that crime fiction fans are sure to fall in love with. Dark and atmospheric, this novel will keep you reading all night!”
—Sheena Kamal, author of The Lost Ones

“A lifeless lake, a floating corpse, a small-town sheriff trying to make her mark, All We Buried is a gripping mystery about memory and the dark secrets we can’t leave behind. Fast-paced and impeccably plotted, the story keeps you guessing as it sinks ever deeper into the community’s troubled past. A late-night read that mystery lovers will devour.”
—Lili Wright, author of Edgar-nominated Dancing with the Tiger
                                                   
“Sheriff Bet Rivers stole my heart and captured my imagination when her investigation of a body in a lake revives haunting memories and forces her past, her town, and even the earth itself to give up their long-held secrets.”
—Roger Johns, award-winning author of the Wallace Hartman mysteries
 
“Atmospheric and addictive, Elena Tayor's All We Buried is a suspenseful slide into the heart of a remote mountain town where the residents are as deep and dark as their glacial lake. You'll stay up all night to finish this novel.”
—Nichole Christoff, author of The Kill Chain
 
“In this seductive mystery Sheriff Bet Rivers homecoming to Lake Collier after the death of her father raises secrets as deep and cold as the glacial lake in which the body of a young woman is found—a  discovery which leads Bet down the most dangerous path of all—that of her repressed childhood memories.”
—Nina Sadowsky, author of The Burial Society and The Empty Bed 
 
"Long-buried secrets in a small town – combined with a young female sheriff who has disturbing questions about her own past – make this tense, twisty thriller a real page-turner. Bet Rivers is a terrific character, and Elena Taylor an exciting new voice in mystery fiction. Read it!"
—R. G. Belsky, award-winning author of the Clare Carlson mysteries
Product Details
ISBN: 9781643852911
ISBN-10: 1643852914
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Publication Date: April 7th, 2020
Pages: 304
Series: A Sheriff Bet Rivers Mystery